If you rent cars in other states or countries frequently or plan a big summer road trip, bone up on laws regarding the use of headphones or earbuds while driving– or you could be hit with a big fine.
Just last week France banned the the use of headsets while driving.
And did you know that drivers are forbidden from wearing headphones in Colorado, Maryland, Louisiana and Rhode Island?
But it’s more complicated in other states. In California, Florida or New York, you can only wear headphones or ear buds in one ear, not both. In Illinois, only Bluetooth headseats are allowed. Fines for breaking these laws can range from $150 to $250.
Since rules seem to be all over the map, here’s an infographic from LifeHacker that spells it out:
NOTE: Be sure to click here to see all recent TravelSkills posts about: Trip Report: SWISS Roche Coach + San Francisco mistakes + Planespotting 101: Airbus + Cool gasoline price heat map + More!